In Flight : Linda Perry Album (2011): Track List – All Songs

by / Wednesday, 09 May 2012 / Published in MP3 Downloads

IN FLIGHT, the shimmering debut by the former lead singer for San Francisco’s 4 Non Blondes, conveys the hazy feeling of an afternoon drive through the California desert. Linda Perry’s ballads exude warmth, with acoustic-guitar, slide-guitar, string and organ arrangements reminiscent of the understated roots-rock of the Cowboy Junkies and the mild psychedelia of Mazzy Star. But the key to the album’s ethereal quality is Perry’s charismatic voice. The same voice that belted out the alternative anthem “What’s Up” is now a subdued, honeyed rasp, a perfect vehicle for her pensive lyrics.

Perry’s songs detail the psychological balancing act between success and happiness, dreams and reality. In “Success,” she muses: “Will success fail me?/What they tell me I should want/Isn’t what I need.” In “Knock Me Out,” a duet with Jefferson Airplane’s Grace Slick, Perry traverses the rocky terrain of a failed relationship. Perry starts this intricate ballad with her side of the story; Slick finishes with the side of the “other woman.” Perry’s songwriting sensibilities are classic, and the album’s quiet musicality nicely accents her talents, making IN FLIGHT a very pleasant trip.

Track List of “In Flight” – Album by Linda Perry:

Track List:

1. In My Dreams
2. Freeway
3. Uninvited
4. Success
5. Life In A Bottle
6. Fill Me Up
7. Knock Me Out
8. Too Deep
9. Taken
10. Fruitloop Daydream
11. Machine Man
12. In Flight

Leave a Reply